August Newsletter 2012

newsletter header.jpg


Here is your Planit Newsletter for August. As always, if you have any feedback or article suggestions, please email us at

Vero's Largest Reseller Conference


Earlier this year, Stephen Cugley (General Manager) and Graham Rutter (Operations Manager) took the opportunity to attend the Vero Software Global Reseller Conference. The conference was the first since last year's merger of Vero and Planit Software.

This year's locations was in Lisbon, Portugal, and allowing the 171 delegates to meet and see the latest product developments, discuss future product direction and get an insight into the future business plans of the Vero Group. Stephen described the trip as "a great opportunity to meet and network with resellers from around the world, and bring back ideas that we can use in Australia".

Stephen and Graham found the conference both enjoyable and educational, some interesting points they learnt include::

     - An early look at Cabinet Vision V8, Cabnetware V10 and Screen 2 Machine Centre V5   

     - A strategic look at the 2013 product roadmap for AlphaCAM that included an introduction to Waveform Roughing and a review of AlphaCAM Art (an artistic applicatioin that automatically creates 3D relief models typically used in the woodworking and engraving industries).

     - An introduction into the other existing Vero products including VISI, Radan and EdgeCAM.

sc_gr_sightseeing.jpgIt was not all business for Stephen and Graham, they also took the opportunity to enjoy the 35 degrees plus temperatures and do some quick sightseeing in and around Lisbon.      


Stephen and Graham visiting the Pena National Palace in Lisbon, before heading back home



 The Wooden Hog


Reality TV shows such as American Choppers and Orange County Choppers have ignited a lot of interest in custom made motor cycles and we recently came across two guys who are designing their own range of 'hogs'. Bill Holloway and Mauro Hernandex have been building wooden bicycles by hand, taking out all the metal parts and replacing them with recycled wood. The duo head to building sites or places where trees have been lopped, grab their timber and go work. They use their skills in tradtional wood working to create 'art that you can ride'. Each bike is unique and the designs resemble high performance choppers. They're sleek, they've got an edge, they're cool and they're made from old recycled timbers. wooden hog.jpgNot sure how practical they are but we do admire the concept, the innovation and the workmanship.

Gary Bertwistle

To subscribe to The Expresso, 'What's New in Thinking', click on the links below


 Happy Father's Day from the Planit Team


From all of the Planit Team, a big Happy Father's Day to all the Dad's our there. We hope you all enjoy spending the day with your family. 


cv tech tip opening backup copy copy.jpg

cw tech tip generate faster cutting lists.jpg

Training Dates


Mon 15/10/2012 - 
Wed 17/10/2012

Tues 13/11/2012 - 
Thur 15/11/2012

Mon 3/12/2012 - 
Wed 5/12/2012



Mon 10/9/2012 -
Wed 12/9/2012

Mon 29/10/2012 - 
Wed 31/10/2012

Mon 26/11/2012 - 
Wed 28/11/2012

Mon 10/12/2012 - 
Wed 12/12/2012

Click here to register for one of our training classes.


Tech Days


Monday 24th September 2012

Monday 29th October 2012

Monday 26th November 2012

Monday 10th December 2012


Monday 10th September 2012

Friday 12th October 2012

Monday 12th November 2012

Monday 3rd December 2012

Click here to register for one of tech days


Contact Us

Phone: (02) 9544 8815



Find a Planit Representative

Click Here to find a Planit Representative in your area

"We are all capable of much more than we think we are."

Lao Tzu



Close Icon

Want more information?

Simply fill in your details below and one of our team will contact you shortly:

Leave this field empty